Book Reviews

In the coming weeks, I am going to add twice monthly book reviews to the blog. I’ll review Adult fiction of any Romance sub-genre, Urban Fantasy, Horror, basically anything with paranormal, occult, or supernatural elements. I’ll also consider Adult non-fiction dealing with paranormal, occult or supernatural subjects. I will consider books that haven’t yet been released, but have a release date, as well as already published books, new releases or backlists. Traditionally published, ePublished, and self published (Indie) works are all fine. Short stories, novellas, and novels, all considered. Any heat level, any kink, or any degree of violence is okay, though I refuse to review works with pedophilia, necrophilia, bestiality, rape as positive, bodily waste as erotic, or other content I consider objectionable.

** Note:  When I first decided to do reviews, it didn’t occur to me that I’d be asked to review Young Adult books because my own writing is adult, but I’ve had several requests for them. I don’t want younger readers coming here because the content isn’t really appropriate, and thus far, it’s been pretty tame. But in the future, I’ll be putting up excerpts and hosting guest posts, and other material that may be sexually explicit. I also don’t think it would be appropriate to follow up a YA review with one of an erotic romance, and, given my stated preferences, that is entirely possible. After a great deal of thought, I’ve decided I can’t, in good conscience, review Young Adult works. My apologies. ***

Reviews will be posted every other Monday, 8am EST. Authors can contact me directly with an email to kenradaniels AT gmail DOT com. I reserve the right to refuse to review a book, with the decision based on the back cover blurb or other information provided by the author. Reviews will be my honest opinion of the book, but will be tactful. No snark. Authors can schedule their review to be posted on the Monday of their choice, as long as the date is available.

The author (or their representative) is responsible for providing the book for me at their expense, in digital or print form, though digital is preferred, a minimum of one month before the review is scheduled to go up. Exceptions to the one month reading time will be considered on a case by case basis. The cover image, buy link, link to the author’s website or blog, and back cover blurb will be included in the review, as well as author name, genre, publisher, release date if applicable, and length. Authors are welcome to do short (750 words or less)  guest posts to go up with the review of their book. Longer guest posts can be scheduled independently.

Comments I consider abusive, derogatory, or offensive will be deleted, no matter who they’re from. I reserve the right to close comments if things get out of hand. Authors who pitch tantrums will not be considered for future reviews. I will not take down reviews because the author doesn’t like them. My reviews are targeted to readers, and not meant to be constructive criticism for the author’s benefit.

Okay, I think that pretty much covers it. Suggestions are welcome. These guidelines may change at any time and will be posted at the bottom of the Reviews Page for future reference.

So, if you know anyone who needs a review…

4 responses to “Book Reviews

  1. Pingback: Linky Friday « creative barbwire (or the many lives of a creator)

Leave a Reply

